Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Scholarship recipients honored at CEHHS Awards Celebration


Sarah Walsh and TyKeara Mims, the recipients of the June D. Gorski Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year were honored at the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences Student’s Awards Celebration on Oct. 12, 2017.

TyKeara Mims

TyKeara Alyse Mims is a Knoxville native, and is excited to complete her first year as a MPH student at UTK. The people she has met and the experiences she has had thus far have been remarkable and have reaffirmed her decision to pursue a career in public health. So far, those unforgettable experiences have included evaluating the COMPASS program with Dr. Meschke, interning at the Knox County Health Department, attending the annual TPHA conference, and presenting at the Graduate Student Research Colloquium. She continues to look forward to what the future has in store for her, and believes wholeheartedly that her experiences at UTK will prepare her for her dream job as a public health consultant. Her interests aside from public health include reading, watching movies, traveling, and baking.

Sarah Walsh

Sarah is a MPH student with a Community Health Concentration. She is originally from Indiana and just recently called East Tennessee her home. She loves to swim, run, travel, and be outdoors. Her career goals include taking her Public Health knowledge and practice overseas. Sarah desires to fulfill those goals by walking alongside youth in poverty-stricken communities, as they become the individuals they desire to be despite the circumstances in which they live. Through this passion, she hopes to operate clinics and community centers to provide holistic health education and opportunities for youth. Sarah looks forward to her MPH leading her to exciting new opportunities to reach her career goals.

Professor emerita June D. Gorski, DrPH established this endowed scholarship in 1995 to further the study and practice of public health. The recipients are currently enrolled graduate students in public health or health education who have demonstrated a commitment to community-based initiatives, promotion or preventive measures, advocacy for policy that enhances the human/animal conditions and collaboration to further the mission of “healthy people in healthy communities.”

You can read more about the scholarship here.