Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2019 Student Awards Ceremony

On May 9, 2019, the Department of Public Health held its annual student awards ceremony.  The  2019 award winners are:


Jay Whelan, Emoni Degon, and Charles Hamilton

Dr. Charles Hamilton Award – for excellence in Health Policy and Management

This award recognizes an MPH student in the Health Policy and Management concentration.  The awardee is recognized for consistently high levels of engagement through research and service throughout their tenure as a graduate student.  This year the Dr. Charles Hamilton award is presented to Emoni Degon.



Jay Whelan, Claire Holladay, and June Gorski

Dr. June  Gorski Award – for excellence in Community Health Education

This award recognizes an MPH student in the Community Health Education concentration.  The award winner has demonstrated excellence in any or all aspects of health education including, community assessment, program development, and evaluation.  This year’s Dr. June Gorski award is presented to Claire Holladay.


Jay Whelan, Addy Grier-Welch, and Marsha Spence

Dr. Betsy Haughton Award – for excellence in Public Health Nutrition

The Dr. Betsy Haughton Graduate Student Award in the Department of Public Health recognizes an exceptional student in the dual MS-MPH student who has a strong interest in improving the health of mothers, infants, children, and their families. The Haughton award also recognizes a student who excels in professionalism, academic achievement, communication skills, and leadership.  Priority is given to students who are interested in workforce development and/or policy, systems, and environmental changes to improve population health. This year’s Dr. Betsy Haughton Award is presented to Addy Grier-Welch.


Simone Godwin

Simone Godwin – image courtesy of UTIA

Dr. John New Award – for excellence in Veterinary Public Health

The John New Award is presented to a VPH student who has the highest GPA in MPH courses.  This year’s Dr. John New Award is presented to Simone Godwin.


Jay Whelan, Zeruiah Buchanan, Samantha Ehrlich, and Kristina Kintziger

Gary and Becky Blauser Award – for excellence in Epidemiology

The Gary and Becky Blauser Award is given to an MPH graduate student who has declared a minor in Epidemiology who has demonstrated great competency and application of epidemiological techniques as demonstrated through employment, volunteer efforts, coursework, or other relevant paths. This year’s winner is Zeruiah Buchanan.


Sarah Walsh holds award certificate while standing between Dr. Jay Whelan and Ms. Julie Grubaugh

Jay Whelan, Sarah Walsh, and Julie Grubaugh

Kathy Darnell Ebener Public Health Intern Award

The Kathy Darnell Ebener Public Health Intern Award is presented to an MPH intern who demonstrates leadership in working with communities and contributes to projects, programs, or policies that promote health equity and improve health among underserved, vulnerable, or high-risk populations in a culturally appropriate, evidence-based way. Preceptor feedback on the intern’s performance is considered. This year’s Kathy Darnell Ebener Public Health Intern Award is presented to Sarah Walsh.