Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Public Health Students/Faculty recognized by Graduate Student Senate


Congratulations to the members of the Department of Public Health who were recently recognized by the University of Tennessee Graduate Student Senate.

Graduate Director of the Year Award:

Award recognizes faculty members who have shown outstanding commitment to teaching graduate and professional students. 

Dr. Kathleen C. Brown

Kathleen C. Brown

Dr. Kathleen Brown – Director of the Master of Public Health program. Since 2014, the MPH program has flourished under Dr. Brown’s supervision as she has helped increase the program’s concentration offerings from three to five, guided the graduate program through accreditation, extensively revised the program’s curriculum, and has led the development of a distance education MPH degree.

Excellence in Graduate Teaching:

This award is presented to graduate teaching assistants and associates for extraordinary performance in teaching.

Bethany Rand poses in front of a vineyard

Bethany Rand

Bethany Rand – Second year doctoral student in the Department of Public Health Sciences. Bethany has served as a graduate teaching assistant for several courses including an undergraduate introductory to epidemiology course as the first doctoral student in the department to be an instructor of record prior to achieving candidacy.

Jeremy Kourvelas – Master of Public Health student and graduate teaching assistant. While obtaining an MPH, Jeremy has served as Vice President of the Public Health Student Association, organized events that has brought together multiple graduate departments and community stakeholders, written policy briefs on substance use disorder for the SMART Policy Network and has published guest editorials in the Tennessean paper on issues of healthcare and the environment.

Excellence in Service Award:

Award presented to graduate and professional students who are extraordinary campus leaders, participate in service learning or other community initiatives, and/or provide service leadership to their academic discipline through service in professional organizations.

Kenneth Mapp

Kenneth Mapp – Second year MPH student in Public Health. Kenneth is involved in two internships, an assistantship, and community service and has served as co-chair of the Public Health’s Diversity, Equity, and inclusion committee. Kenneth’s humility and humor serve him very well in exploring challenging topics and creating a safe space for the exploration of others.